Tag Archives: social events

Social Committee and Race@SPR Awards 2018

Thank you to everyone who participated and nominated our club members in this year’s annual awards.  Approximately 60 people were nominated and below you can see the reasons why. We are very proud to have each and every one of you in our club!

Social Committee Awards 2018:

The winners of the awards were selected by a panel based on the number and nature of the nominations. The list of names below is a combination nominations listed in alphabetically order.

Most improved rider – a rider who over the last year has made the greatest improvements in ability and skill.


Female and Overall – Sam Flockhart 

Male – Greg Jones

Sam, Part 1
Greg, much improved and well loved.







Also nominated:

Adam Ralph, Anita Young ¸Daniel Harvey, David Menarry, Dermot Blackweir, Elar Kalda, Faye Daglish Jones, Ginny Donley, Josie Meyer¸ Kate Bonner, Katheryn Dines, Laurensia Rosana, Liz Sheehan, Meegan Fyfield, Michelle McLintock, Rebecca Kelly, Rob Ramsden, Ross Boaden¸ Steve Burns, Stuart Carson, Tim Hopkins, Vanessa Johnson

Most inspirational rider: someone who has influenced you through their deeds or helped to motivate you to achieve more in cycling than you thought you could.

Female and overall – Amanda Nabi
Male – Adam Ralph

Also with multiple nominations:

Faye Dagliesh-Jones, Meagan Fyfeild, Michelle Mclintock, Rob Ramsden,

Good Samaritan/s: someone who has taken an opportunity to help, on the spur of the moment, another cyclist in need.


These Blokes. Trust us – we’re cyclists.

Andrew Ballam, Peter Mah

Also with multiple nominations:

Dave Menarry, Dean Roser¸ Rob Ramsden, Steve Burns, Tracey Hassell & Eamon Dorricott


Epic equipment or moment award: something that sticks in your mind about a rider and/or their bike/gear/club ride/race that was so unusual, be that good or bad.


Bonner. Mucho amore. Tears ensued all around.

Michelle Bonner: For initiating full medical response with CPR to resuscitate and revive Greg Jones after an episode out on an SPR ride.

Vanessa Johnson: For continuing to race at WCMCC after witnessing husband and VP Dr J in several pieces on the roadside post-race crash. For another four laps. Laughs, haha banter….

Also with multiple nominations:

Adam Ralph, Amanda Nabi, Andrew Ballam, Steve Burns, Tim Hopkins.

Best social media photo, caption or meme of a photo of SPR club member/s

Best Photo: Audrey Xie

Go. Away.

For a forlorn image of Sam Flockhart and Dean Roser racing The Beverley in “marginal” conditions.

Best Memes: Dome Coffees Cycling Club

Also nominated:

Peter Mah for his countless selfies while racing world champs and Seven.

Rafael Fernandez for his SPR ride videos on Facebook.

Best Dressed Xmas Riders:

Jack Chang, as always.
Mark De Castro. Appalling. A jersey so bad, it’s great.







Peter Lander. Longest stripey legs going around!

Race @ SPR – Race Awards 2018:

This year we are awarding an SPR kit and Team (non-SPR) kit awards for Women and Men. But firstly some Honourable Mentions for those that should be recognised for efforts AND actual achievement.

In the Mens, Masters WCMCC racing saw regular big numbers from SPR, largely from The Ring Leader recruiting all and sundry Steve Burns – outstanding work!

Among those racing with results through the year were Tomasz Wolcyk winning the Element Series B grade, Craig Denham performing as part of Check 1-2 through the Ring Series, Adam Ralph, David Menarry, Ross Boaden, Tim Hopkins, Pete Seizovic all taking results in WCMCC, and Mike Morris taking the win at Peel Classic C grade.

From the Women, Sam Flockart at Masters Nats, Corrie Johnstone’s A grade consistency, Vanessa Johnson, Laurensia Rosana, and without bias Rebecca Kelly (who forbid me naming her) who placed second in the Element series for B grade.

SPR Women’s Racer of the Year – Kirstie Moore.

Kirstie Moore. C grade series won last year, B grade series win this year. Where next?

Stepping up to B grade and winning the Element Series after also winning Women’s C Grade series last year. Absolute consistency prevailed. And topping that off with ToMR Stage 3 sprint mixing it with the A graders.



Elar Kalda. Just keeps getting better.

SPR Men’s Racer of the Year – Elar Kalda

Jumping to A grade this year Elar consistently finished with placing in top 10s. And in the process pinching a Dome Coffees Racing Team call up.


Team (non-SPR Kit) Women’s Racer of the Year, JOINT winners

Michelle McLintock

The Win.

Michelle placed strongly throughout the year, but hit the pinnacle in Victoria winning the Overall Masters National Champion for her division.




Amanda Nabi


Amanda took Local, National and (UCI) International podium places for Road Racing and Time Trial and a crescendo-ed with a Cycling Australia nomination for National Masters Chick of the Year*.

(*May not be actual title..!)


Pat’s take on “Xmas Jersey”. Well won, Mate.

Team (non-SPR Kit) Men’s Racer of the Year: Patrick Saccani-Williams

With another top 20 place at ITT Nationals in January, winner ToMR overall individual and just recently winning in the Thailand Tour of Chaing Rai Pat dominated. Including Crit wins. CRITS?!?!

Better with age? Ralphaaaaa!


Most improved racer: Adam Ralph

From a strong finish to last year, Adam continued improving throughout 2018 at UCI Worlds, regular WCMCC outings, Element Series and Road Captaining at


The “Golden Mo” Racing Photo of the Year is awarded to the SUBJECTS of a great Race Day photo. Sam Flockart and Dean Roser.

Happier, drier times.

At The Beverley, on the return leg and loving life these two flouted all three lessons offered by the Mo (1. Get in the drops; 2. Ride AT the photographer; 3. Look fast, don’t go fast) they captured all the emotion and feels of an epic challenging day.

A huge thanks goes out to Jon “Hanno” Hanson, and to the endless generosity of our SPR volunteers. You know who you are!

Congratulations to this years SPR Awards Winners.

Tour de France night

Calling all SPROOLERSJoin us to experience the excitement and exhilaration this time is… the Tour de France!

Yes, it is another “South Perth Rouleurs Out Of Lycra Event”. In spirit of Tour de France, join us at dinner with a beautiful selection of gourmet French food (not to mention French wine & beers!) but numbers are limited to just 50 people so don’t delay!  Partners welcome.

Where: The Precinct Restaurant
834 Albany Highway, East Victoria Park.
When:  Sunday 27 July 2014 at 6:30pm
Cost:  $40 per person (plus drinks)-cash only
and collected upon entry

RSVP:  On the SPR Blog by Monday 20 July 2014.

Prize for best dressed and come prepared for a Tour de France Quiz on the night!

Help us spreading out the words with this flyer: Tour Dinner Invite
Looking forward to seeing you all there!

Laurensia, Graham, Amanda, Carol and Heiko
SPR Social Committee